Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Chinese New Year Reunion Meal

on January 28, 2014

I managed to catch up with my friend since we were 18 years of age today. She had kindly offered to help me get groceries. I am grateful to her as always for her thoughtfulness and kindness. She told me she was my personal assistant in hospital when I was being sent for CT scan and MRI.

She had to re-direct my visitors and hospital personnel looking for me. She is a good person and I must add, a staunch Catholic.

Yes, we used to go to church together till I ended up in spiritual limbo 20 years ago. I teased her that she has her antennae paired well with God’s bluetooth. All linkages were well connected with the best Heaven subscription for an internet plan. She does not get angry with my nonsense!

Despite her busiest time of the year now…she has to cook for almost 18 persons plus a full time job, she makes time for me. Small wonder, I always call her “The Nun” as she is most giving. I often wondered why no man has won her heart as she is not only pretty, kind hearted, she is also a high flier in the corporate world. We are both single, career minded and with no Romeo in our lives!

The reunion dinner is an important one for us Chinese. This is dinner where on the Chinese Lunar New Year eve, all family members return home to eat with their parents. Given today’s modern world, there is wide spread practice for married members to hold their own reunion dinner with their own family (nucleus).

As many as 10 dishes are elaborately cooked; there will be duck, chicken, pork…loads of meats, traditional pen cai dishes, or steam boat meals, abalone, shellfish etc. this is a symbol of prosperity feasting as family members eat and make merry ushering in the new year. Sometimes up to 3 generations eat together. Child, parents, grandparents! Luckier ones would have even their great grandparents to share reunion dinner with.

For me reunion dinner reminds me of the night my granny died. I remembered my mum had just finished cooking a sumptuous meal and just as we were about to say grace and begin dinner, uncle arrived at our house to announce Granny’s passing! I must have been 6 years old.

So I cannot help but remember granny on reunion dinner night. Granny doted on my mum and my mum dotes on me as she does with all her children!

I also remember my pet Doberman, Gretchen. She was like a family member and would always have a piece of what is served at reunion meals. Gretchen lived up to a ripe age of 13 years or 91 dog years!

Reunion is special as families gather to remember the past, rejoice in the new year ahead and just yakkity yak with family.

Unfortunately for me, it is just my parents and I. My brother has not joined us for Chinese new year for the last 3 years. He lives in HK and I suppose his Hong Kong partner does not endorse his ‘visa’ to be with us. Such is married life. You lose your individuality once married. As for my sister, she has married a German man and lives in New Zealand with their son. She is no longer “Chinese” but she was a Sarong party girl to begin with πŸ˜‰

It will be just a quiet simple meal with my mum and dad and my favorite stuff toy, Garfield….happy feasting all and remember your loved ones during this day!

Xin nian kuai le wan shi ruyi or as we say in Hokkien…hhhhhhuuuuuaaaat aaah! This means….prosper and make it rich!!!


2 responses to “Chinese New Year Reunion Meal

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.