Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Foiled

on August 7, 2016

When the news broke that our intelligentsia had foiled an ISIS attack from Batam, Indonesia, I was dumbstruck silent.

Batam, Indonesia is just 45 minutes ferry ride to my lil red dot. Sigh…I used to commute there for work meetings with Chicken.

I used to sup with Mr Lawyer of Batam as we wheeled and dealt with business.

It was to me a tranquil, idllyic village style resort in Indonesia that once had sleepy Nagoya town but now with hip happening life style bistros and night scene.

Thankfully, our two governments worked jointly to thwart terroist plans.

It seems a long range missile was aimed at our Marina Bay Financial Center. They had wanted a reprise of Twin Towers in New York albeit in my lil red dot.

External threats like these from neighboring lands are real.

Lil red dot is a pivotal anchor to USA, Europe, China and the rest of the world. 

We had spoken up against terror attacks to France or any country that loses lives through these senseless attacks.

Riau Islands is also literally a stone’s throw away.

Our Home Affairs Minister S K Shanmugam said that this was the nature of things to come.

Interdependence between governments are pivotal.

Co existence a must!

In this aspect, I reflect back on the rhetoric that is much publicised for upcoming USA elections.

Mexico is a stone throw away from USA. 

So is Canada.

It may be useful to be interdependent and co-exist like we do with our neighbors, Malaysia and Indonesia.

True, it is always not hunky dory as we have had sarcastic comments on the haze.

Malaysia’s ex premier Mahatir has always an axe to grind with us though our government gets on well with successive PMs after him.

I am thankful that I woke up alive in lil red dot, in the same tranquility and peace I went to bed in last night.

I did not wake up to carnage, sirens screaming or mourners sobbing at loss of their loved ones in any terroist attacks.

I woke up with Garfield, my inanimate furball sleeping by my side and the alarm clock ringing to remind me of chores ahead on Sunday.

Yes, I am alive but only to do a long drawn work battle with slow death effects with Electrical Lord and 3 work villiansπŸ˜‰

I pray for world peace and though it sounds cheesy..it is sadly the truth…one that money cannot buy.

My Sunday sobering thoughts!

6 responses to “Foiled

  1. Pleased you’re safe-it’s sad to see these things on the news but somehow it becomes more frightening when it happens in your own place-we had a bomb scare in the city centre. Glad you have sensible government!

  2. calmkate says:

    Very sensible words – interdependent and co-exist!

  3. scifihammy says:

    Definitely sobering thoughts, and so sad that in this day and age, this is what we worry about. Very glad you and your Little Red Dot are fine today. πŸ™‚
    Good luck with your Sunday chores. I put on some up-beat music to help me get through my boring chores. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

