Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

And So The Story Goes #33

on August 10, 2016

Rewind back to 9th August….12.30pm.

My android phone buzzed. 

Lo and behold, it was none other than from Mr Ex.

MR EX

“Happy Birthday! I finish Q&A of my class in 20 minutes and I take you out for lunch ok?”

ME

“WOW! So nice and you remembered. I thought you would be out busy playing Pokemon Go! You better go find my gift….go go…”

NOTE1

I was teasing him to go find my rare breed of inanimate furball Garfield. Truly, he is a rarity these days and if he appears, trust me, Mr Ex would find it.😊

MR EX

“20 minutes”

ME

“OK text me when you are leaving and I will wait for you downstairs”

NOTE2

He usually wants me to focus on timing. But I know he is rubbery on timing as he will be innundated with questions during his talks. He is ridiculously humorously truly. So his 20 minutes is equal to 40 minutes.

40 minutes later he drives up to my pigeon hole.

His lovely E300 Mercedes Benz was badly scratched on its side. It was as if he was driving the bat mobil and it went through an alley way chasing Joker.

He is a horrid driver and his intelligent car keeps repeating “drive safely” 

MR EX

“My driver is tired today so I am driving. My licence is almost revoked with too many traffic violations!”

NOTE3

EGAD!! Should I be in his car?

We drove to Dan Ryan’s Chicago Grill located near Regency Hotel.

MR EX

“Table for one normal person and one highly abnormal person” 

He said this to the hostess. Typical of him! Grr!!

MR EX

“A booth would be good, far away from others as we argue a lot and fight even”

ME

“Don’t listen to him”

NOTE4

The hostess was wide eyed and showed us a booth near another table with occupants.

MR EX

“Over that section is better as we have alot to fight and argue about. We may even throw food…so that closed section is better”

NOTE5

By now the hostess felt we were an oddball couple and let us sit in the closed section.

MR EX

“Order first…I want iced lemon tea. I will need to go wash my hands and my backside”πŸ˜‰

Big mistake as he let me do the ordering!

I ordered like there was no tomorrow. Serves him right for embarrassing me as always.

ME

“Half slab of ribs, sauteed mushrooms, small Caesar Salad, fish and chips and chocolate brownie with one scoop chocolate ice cream! Oh and 2 iced lemon teas without sugar please. We are sharing all the food”

MR EX

“You must be hungry”

NOTE6

Mr Ex loves all the foods I ordered. We both have the same palate and I like variety. I could not eat all that and knew that he would vaccum off all from the plates to his tum tum…ha ha and I get a taste of everything!

I am bad!! He is on a diet and I ruined it as he could eat the entire slab of pork ribs.

Throughout lunch we bantered on his business ideas, his great “rhetoric” and “writings”

MR EX

“Read through my Inspirational blog on wordpress and let me know how I should categories my letters as I intend to print them as a book.”

ME

“No such thing as a free lunch eh…so I have to sing for my supper”

And so the story goes….

Stay tuned for #34 as things got “interesting” indeed!

11 responses to “And So The Story Goes #33

  1. The V Pub says:

    I love ribs! They are messy but oh so tasty. #34 sounds very interesting! πŸ˜€

  2. scifihammy says:

    Excellent you got out for lunch too πŸ™‚

  3. Nice to go out for lunch as well, glad you made Mr.Ex pay big..lol! Do you know, Garfield is a rarity now…been looking ages now!

  4. Neethu says:

    Wow…wish you a very very happy belated bday…πŸŽ‚πŸŽˆπŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ˜Š

Leave a Reply

