Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

And So The Story Goes #37 & A Tribute To Mr S R Nathan 1924 – 2016

on August 27, 2016

โ€‹Our former President of the Republic of Singapore, Mr SR Nathan passed away at age 92 years old. 

His state funeral was held on 26 August 2016. 

We lost another Pioneer Generation Leader and we celebrate his life.

Mr EX and I convey our deepest condolences to a man much loved by lil red dot and the rest of the world as a people’s president.

Mr Abe, Prime Minister, from Japan personally arrived enroute to Kenya to pay his respects as Mr Nathan personally went to console the survivors of the Hiroshima atomic bomb.

The Johor Crown Prince also paid his respects to Mr Nathan as he laid in state at Parliament House.

People applauded Mr Nathan for taking the role of hostage amongst 12 men in exchange for the citizens to guarantee safe passage for a Japanese terroist and a Palestenian cell guman – Laju Incident in 1975. 

He was not sure he will return alive to his family. Thankfully he did.

Mr Nathan also set up the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and as Ambassador to US, had to stand up to defend Singapore laws upheld when Michael Fay vandalised property in Singapore and was subsequently caned. 

He stood up against the uproar of Americans and answered Larry King on his show.

So how is Mr EX featured in all this? 

Mr Ex had done a fund raiser with Mr SR Nathan and this is how the story goes…

ME

“Mr S R Nathan RIP….one life lived. One life given to duty. Sadly one by one they go….๐Ÿ˜ข At least he will meet our former Prime Minister and founding father, Mr Lee Kuan Yew and they could form new government in the heavenly realm๐Ÿค—”

Mr EX

“My tribute to him”

NOTE1

He sent me a link to his online tribute on WordPress and I read it. It described how he set up a walk on broken glass to raise funds for poor children. Though it did not raise much, Mr EX described how he was invited to Istana to meet with Mr Nathan then President to have his photo taken with him.

ME

“Really nice of you to pen it. 

So my eulogy how?”

NOTE2

My humor must set in to lighten the sombre moment. 

MR EX

“She clean her backside as long as I remind her. She KPKB (kao peh kao bu in Hokkien dialect to mean…complains alot) but sometimes it makes the world a better home”

NOTE3

Mr EX would not let up on my backside! Me thinks he is really obsessed with the gluetus maximus…especially mine!! Aaargh..๐Ÿ˜• What a eulogy? 

ME

“Haizz…it is beng (*beng is a local colloqual lil red dot singlish) style but there is some “heart” in there. ๐Ÿค— So bad leh you never come entertain me…I discharge from Bates Motel on Monday.”

MR EX

“I shit also no time. Which hospital and ward?”

NOTE4

His beng style singlish to mean he has no time to poo…slaving at work hence cannot visit or see me in hospital.

ME

“Lol! Remember to clean your backside. Bates Motel,same ward, same room, same place.”

NOTE5

I saw the door open to torpedo him back on his “backside” obsession theory. *By now I must say it is his theory!

MR EX

“Your eulogy will bring tears to the audience. You may just jump back up from the box.”

ME

“Knowing you, tears of laughter…I donate the rest of my living years to you since you have family and I don’t. Better you enjoy it without me๐Ÿค”๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿค—”

Silence ensued….I stunned him, I am sure…


7 responses to “And So The Story Goes #37 & A Tribute To Mr S R Nathan 1924 – 2016

  1. samanthamurdochblog says:

    Interesting…I shall have to look him up. He sounds like quite a man. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Garfield Hug says:

      He was. I did not know till his good friends delivered his eulogies and I learnt. I only knew him from President’s Challenge, his star charity for lesser known charities. He raised hundreds of millions to feed the many less fortunate. Thank you for reading up on our pioneer leaders.

  2. GP Cox says:

    I am sorry for your loss.

  3. scifihammy says:

    92 is a grand age, and he lived a good life. I hope it brings some condolences to you and your country. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.