Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

My Memoirs #3 – The Garden

on September 8, 2016

Growing up years are a blank to me as the ravages of general anaesthesia (GA) has wiped the slate on my brain clean as if Mr Muscle or Cif did a super job cleansing!

….The good, the bad and the ugly all gone till my college years.

So, it is not an urban myth that GA can wipe memories squeaky clean. Trust me, it does! 

I lost count of the number of times I went under the knife but I just have battle scars to show! 

They say karma is to blame…ahh well, I have gotta blame “someone”๐Ÿ˜‰

If I do not remember incorrectly, there must have been more than 16 occasions lasting minimum 3 hours to the grand record of more than 11 hours under 

Hmm so what do I remember?

My childhood is a blank. I do have a scene or 2 but other than that zilch!

I console self…live for the moment and memories are just memories if remembered else let’s await deja vu moments๐Ÿ˜‰

I do remember my home’s fruit trees.

Mum loves gardening and she had planted 2 Jambu Ayer trees and a lot more of other local tropical fruit trees.

Jambu Ayer is a local fruit indigenous to our Asian area that is described as a conical hat, cherry pink in color, filled with heaps of juice. It is a thirst quencher.

It is a tasteless juicy fruit that is tasty when dipped in black soya sauce with granulated sugar spiced with cut red chillis.

This fruit is used in the local fruit mix called “rojak” that is tossed in shrimp paste, tamarind, sugar and garnished with ground peanuts. Other fruits include guava, unripe Thai mango or local “Kuay Ni” mango. This is a local ethnic Malay salad.

My mum also planted 2 mango trees that were grafted with papaya (bore mango fruits that were 8 inches long) and another with coconut (bore fruits that were round looking like coconuts but it was a mango).

Mum loves to experiment with the orchard chappie who sellls her these fruit saplings as she had a sprawling garden to plant.

We also had 2 rambutan trees, calamansi plant, lemon plant and papaya.

She also planted local herbs like laksa leaves (daun kesum) and pandan leaves (*these are great to ward off cockroaches and creepy crawlies besides being a great fragrant for cakes, desserts and rice or barley drink)

Our neighbors were our best friends during harvest. 

Each family will walk home with huge loads of fruits. It made mum happy to give and have people enjoy fruits of her labor literally.

I hate gardening. But I love chomping on fruits.

It was a haven for creepy crawlies – wriggling worms, caterpillars, spiders, snakes, ants of all shapes and sizes, heaps of dead leaves to be raked and grass!

Aargh!! Hated it with a passion but loved the fruits ๐Ÿค“

I am allergic to grass and so, thankfully had a doctor’s reprieve to stay out of the garden except to steal a fruit or two or romp with our pet doggies.

Mum could not call me “lazy” as I had a genuine reprieve ha ha!

We had a dobermann pinscher we bought and a hybrid cross of a beagle with a mongrel that we adopted as a puppy.

I remember once returning after midnight and an evil snake, thinking it was in the Garden of Eden, lunged at me but my dobermann leapt at it.

I was more worried about her safety than mine. She deserves a “purple heart” medal for her bravery really.

It was a cobra and it must have slithered in from the wooded area behind our property.

As woofie dashed after it with her ferocious bark, the long cobra decided to helter skelter, saving its own skin!

My garden adventure as they say or escapade….woofie stayed alive and I gave her the biggest Garfield hug ever.

16 responses to “My Memoirs #3 – The Garden

  1. Brave dog! It’s funny the sorts of things you do remember from childhood…those trees must have made a big impression although they sound amazing!

  2. Great set of memories, loved reading them as I’m embarking on a poem about my childhood …

  3. ulli says:

    What a colourful childhood, GH.
    Best wishes,
    Ulli

  4. The V Pub says:

    I loved reading these recollections. Your pup is one brave doggie!

  5. Neethu says:

    Lovely memories…๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿ’ž

  6. Well, a Dog can be a ‘Woman’s Best Friend’ too, Right, Garfield?

  7. You’re so lucky to have spent your childhood amidst nature than in concrete buildings! The memoir series is v interesting so much that I’ve forgotten the ‘So the story goes’ series ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

