Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

10,896 Steps – My Feat

on September 12, 2016

3 years ago, walking 3 to 5 kilometres daily was a breeze. It was my daily regime except when it stormed or as we say, rained cats and dogs.

I would groan as it meant not being able to “speak” with the squirrels I called Scamper who would dart about foraging fo seeds or fruits in the wooded area where I walked.

These days, Scamper might be all grown up for all I know.

But after my multiple surgical interventions, doing any steps to excess (*figuring out what my threshold is really) would actually cause my back to seize and thighs to hurt as bad as pre surgical intervention days.

So, when my mobile device beeped yesterday at close to midnight and I saw my badge achieved for 10,896 steps, I was jubilant and felt so very achieved as if I won my own Olympic medal of sorts! 

My pain threshold has upped a new level. True whilst my back was painful, I did not feel the thigh pain so badly.

Maybe I am getting used to painπŸ˜₯

I must have used more than 15 escalator rides and climbed 30 steps.

Pity my escalator rides were not as colorful as this image below

I would have rode the escalator more times as it would have been so fun!

Still one would think after doing such a good workout that I would sleep like a log.

Wrong! I woke up so many times that my inanimate furball Garfield must have been rudely awakened many times by his staff…ie ME πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Cats are regal….plush toys or real…my inanimate furball Garfield is much loved πŸ˜‰

10,896 steps….I am proud!! It means I can aspire for 12,000 steps next time!

Whoo hoo!!

Hmm….now I wonder how many kilometres is that?πŸ€”

22 responses to “10,896 Steps – My Feat

  1. Morning! Apparently it’s 1,320…on average, to a kilometre, although it varies according to leg length. Well done! Lol- love the escalator pic!

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Thank you for that conversion fact!! I am so happy….approx 8km!! 😊

      • It’s very good! Do you have insoles to cushion as you walk? I have to, after my foot op. or my ankle swells..

      • Garfield Hug says:

        I use Asics sports shoes. It is comfortable😊

      • Ah yes I know them! I use the Scholl foot support
        things, quite good, although I go barefoot when I can…lol!

      • Garfield Hug says:

        Oh..forgot to ask what happened to your foot? Post op, physio is pivotal. Take care please

      • Yeah…had Physio, not much use though. I have a tumour, benign, inside my foot (vile) that makes a lump on the underneath of my foot. Had an op to try and remove it about ten years ago-they couldn’t, as it was wrapped around the nerves in my foot (vile) so now I still have lump, pain and scar to go with it! Always looking for the ultimate foot/ankle support though…

      • Garfield Hug says:

        Oh sorry to hear that! Am wondering if my neurosurgeons can fix it? They remove all sorts of nerve encased tumors.
        Lil red dot may have expertise perhaps else it is a big ouch for you as can imagine the pain. What about your local neurosurgeons? 2nd opinion in UK perhaps?

      • It’s difficult apparently, as if they had another go it would mean losing more feeling in my toes, so basically it’s painkillers, supports and physio. I later heard that the surgeon who performed the initial operation has since been struck off! It damages your confidence a little, to hear that!

      • Garfield Hug says:

        Oh no!! Sorry you had a quack surgeon. Be strong. I had a celebrated surgeon who did my first spinal operation. He failed miserably and was subsequently ashamed of himself that he told me all his degrees belonged to the dust bin. I went on for reconstructive surgery by another surgeon and did not cave in to fear. Losing feeling but gaining freedom from pain maybe? I suffer from nerve pain but I have freedom of major pain. Stay strong and keep the faith. One day medical science gets better, it will help us😊
        Garfield hugs as pain is an ugly feeling.

      • Good grief!! Basically I manage, but your spine-that’s a major thing!! You’re very brave πŸ™‚ and you’re right…pain is rubbish, but advances are made all the time. *hugs back*

      • Garfield Hug says:

        Good gal! Have faith and believe that you will find the right surgeon at the right time. Garfield hugs and thank you for sharing 😊

  2. scifihammy says:

    Congratulations on all that walking! πŸ™‚ Sorry you couldn’t sleep, that sucks. Maybe Garfield was waking You up! πŸ™‚

  3. Well done! Any blisters?

  4. I just *pray* that your pain goes away!

Leave a Reply

