Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Missing My Daily Posts For Good Cause

on September 12, 2016

Oops! I am late!! 

Missing my 3 posts today as it was a busy day for me.

 I was out in support of ARC’s Children Center for their 5th anniversary celebration. This is my 5th year supporting this and I find it very meaningful.

Held at Island Ballroom at Shangri-La, today’s lunch was sponsored by Tote Board.

ARC’s Children Center caters to children with life threatening diseases such as cancer, leukemia and or any other congenital diseases.

I heard a heart wrenching story from Duchess of Yore who went to this event with me.

A 4 year old suffering from terminal cancer told his mum that he saw a beautiful garden and that he wanted to go there. He passed away the next day.

He was not hallucinating and neither was he resuscitated. He saw the garden when awake and told his mum matter of factly!

I had to host a table of 10 people at today’s lunch on behalf of Duchess of Yore as she sat at the main table with Minister of Home Affairs, Mr K Shanmugan and Dr Maliki, Senior Minister of State and his wife, Mrs Maliki.

Lunch was as always, good.

Cold appetisers comprising cold jellyfish, wrapped wontons and roast duck was yummy.

Hot szechuan soup followed, pan fried cod fish, blanched spinach served with shitake mushrooms, fried rice and a dessert plate comrpising strawberries, chocolate pralines and white chocolate mousse.

I only managed to take a picture of vegetarian’s menu first dish of cold appetiser.

3 of my guests were vegetarians and they said it was good.

My guests who supported me were my panel of doctors; Drs Boey Wah Keong, James Tan Siah Heng, Pang Boon Chuan, Daniel Ho, Mr Willie Neo from Mercedes Benz’s Cycle and Carriage and 3 super cops, Lance, Jason and Sunny.

Below is a photo of Willie taken with a child of ARC. *Photo courtesy of Willie Neo

It was a joy seeing the children doing a skit for us, positively happy and not sheltered just because they were ill.

I wish them all good health and I look forward to seeing them all next year!

14 responses to “Missing My Daily Posts For Good Cause

  1. What a great post and lovely cause ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. scifihammy says:

    It is the hardest thing to have such a sick child. A wonderful cause you support ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. It is these acts of kindness that restore faith in mankind and the sanctity of life. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Neethu says:

    A lovely event indeed…

  5. You’re a ‘Garfield Angel’ ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless!

Leave a Reply

