Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Generically Speaking

on September 18, 2016

I lost my funny bone,

Not even a whimper can be heard in tones.

Generically speaking, I move about these days, dazed – as if feeling the despondent work life overwhelming me.

It is a bad sign and unless I find alternative, employment, I have to learn to cope.

Coping to me, is just filling self with hope that tomorrow will be a better day.

But it isn’t going to be as Sunday, in the wee hours of the morn at 1.57am, the Evil Lord has text me on why a certain soul was paid overtime.

In all seriousness, my text reply would have been,

“If the Head of Department has approved the person’s overtime and all documents are in order for the work done, we pay. Wake up you moron! Do you think the whole world lives on fresh air and sunshine for your greatness! Sheesh”

Instead the reply was simply,

“Check on Monday”

So Monday will be a battlefield again and who will be slaughtered, no one except me and he will probably thrash me in front of others as if “name and shame” in a public arena was the norm. If possible, his lordship would conduct a public stoning for me.

How could anyone so vile be alive?

Is there anyone out like him?

THERE IS!!

Yesterday I was with Mr Chomps – he fixes my gums and teeth.

He is a good soul and is as blunt and direct as I am.

We get along swell, he does yoga and I carry my inanimate furball with me.

We are both single and cynical about life – both of us have lemons in life it seems.

After we exchanged our stories, he told me that my Evil Lord sounds exactly like his Tooth Lord of 22 years whom he worked under previously.

“He once called me on a Sunday, just as I was reversing my car and trying to park. He thinks everyone like him, has no life.

He would ask many to do the same task and I felt it was a waste of my time as nothing pleases him. Finally, I left him and started out on my own”

I felt proud of Mr Chomps for making that difficult decision to leave back then and he has done well now.

His personal new practice is doing well and he has many dentists in his practice group. Only the “no where to go ones are left with his Tooth Lord! he quipped!”

Life has its twists and turns,

So long as I am not stored in an urn.

I await my turn,

So stern, go stern,

I will find a new turn!

Life is a box of chocolates, you pick what you get- these were words from the Forrest Gump movie that I had the pleasure of re-watching a rerun for the third time.

Forrest took life without thinking and accepted whatever came to him. He did not look disturbed nor stressed. I wish I could behave like Forrest Gump!

I once asked someone why car accidents occur and they person simply replied, “drive at 50 Km per hour and you will not get into any accidents” – This person did not bother to answer my question but presented a solution, for which I am grateful.

I know not what Monday brings,

Hopefully a new job that I will not cringe!

I know not what Monday brings,

Perhaps by afternoon, tears in strings?

Life has to get better for me – maybe I should just emulate the character of Forrest Gump – stupid is as stupid does 😉

 

 

 

10 responses to “Generically Speaking

  1. Oh dear, I feel awful for you..the man’s a demon. I REALLY hope something else comes along for you, you deserve better. Try that curse…

  2. scifihammy says:

    It really is time to leave this awful EL.
    You have to think of your health – And get your funny bone back! 🙂

    • Garfield Hug says:

      I am trying! EL’s unreasonableness is getting more apparent daily.
      Monday…I pray all goes in my favor Monday for the interview. I intend to grab any offer to leave EL. I can only humbly pray….

      • scifihammy says:

        I agree you have to leave and I wish you all the Best Luck in finding a new job. 🙂
        I know it isn’t easy at all, and your previous Lord was also bad, but really, you need to look after your health and search for something less stressful.

  3. Hira says:

    I wish you find another job and funny bone! Good luck for interview and Monday

  4. Best to ignore all out of office hours communications – personal time is sacred!

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Much as I want to, this Evil Lord does not care and will berate me the next working day. I pray hard that in an hour’s time, I make it past round 1 of my new potential employer’s job interview. My luck has got to change!!

Leave a Reply

