Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

What Is True Or What Is Not

on October 1, 2016

I am one of those who believe in things happen for a reason. 

Yet for the life of me, that proverbial reason eludes me!

Wouldn’t it be nice and comforting if I knew whatever is held in store for me?

My latest bug bear has been work and the lack of family support as I struggle through this.

I have learnt from early days that my siblings are pretty much self before others. “I before others”- mantra of the day!

Their choices and they are entitled to it. If only I had the same choice or brave enough to do it.

Yet why do I care when they need help?

Bro lives under the thumb of his partner, Lizard. She determines when he can return for a visit and or do things.

Hen pecked or dictatorship at its acme?

Sis is beholden to her one and only son. No one, absolutely no one can take precedent over this son.

If her parents are taken ill, she cannot take the next flight out as she opines she must cater for his needs. 

A baby? Nah! 22 year old.

I have an awkward family that I feel exists in blood and name only.

If anyone needs anything or a solution out of their dilemma, who do they call?

Nahh…not Ghost Busters but yours truly!

Do I respond? I feel the need to as we are “family” – I have to awe them with warmth and love. I react. I do it.

I am a blithering fool really. 

Reciprocity does not follow. I am “expected” to do it as I as the one…as if like the “chosen one”

Now that I am struggling with a job that saps my mental health, I want to avoid any dealings with family.

I tried and tested the attitudes and appeal for support. I get avoidance. Overnight it seems I may contracted an “infectious disease” ermmm maybe like Zika and then I am dropped like a hot potato.

I feel I get more support from WordPress readers and Duchess of Yore than “family”

Enough said of my “blood related family” – heavens forbid if I am ever relegated to beggar status, I must bring my begging bowl to any other home but theirs. But if it was a role reversal, Lizard would expect me to fill hers with plump marrons, juicy king crabs, finest caviar and best bottle of champagne.

As for the antics of my Electrical Lord it seems he is re-designating me as his “special assistant” or in his words, “very special assistant in Chairman office, special projects, 1st in charge of all minions but not MD….just very special” 

I cannot fathom what it is that I am to do except a job description that is seamless and do EL’s beckoning at his reckoning I suppose.

In short …a legal slave status available for his spitting at will, kicking when he is filled and like a drunken sot.

So much for “blood related family” and the antics of EL.

Hmm…so what is the reason for all this?

I rack my brains……


21 responses to “What Is True Or What Is Not

  1. Oh dear…sometimes family can be very selfish and not what a family should be at all..well, at least you know your WP readers are here for you. EL is just a power hungry egomaniac who needs a constant audience…just keep going, something will turn up x

  2. ulli says:

    Oh, GH, life is really complicated. But believe me: The people you help aren’t the people that help you. They can’ t help, because they need help. Go your way and make yours and you will find people helping you 🌠
    Best wishes
    Ulli

  3. scifihammy says:

    What Ulli said is perfect. πŸ™‚
    There’s also that quote from Tennyson – “Ours is not to reason why, ours is but to do or die.”
    Myself, I say, “It is what it is”.
    And Good Luck with your continuing job search πŸ™‚

  4. Neethu says:

    Right now enjoy the much awaited weekend before u face the horrible EL again..πŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ«πŸ«πŸ«

  5. Ulli & scifihammy just sounded like my Papa….but then maybe they r right, though even the thought of all his selfish siblings and their bigass wives drives me nuts…

    But as he would say…”Just because they are bad, we should’nt stop being good”. (Though i dont plan to follow his footsteps anytime soon;))

    Anyway, good luck to you and have an awesome Sunday!

  6. Enjoyed your post…especially the pet name “Lizard.” Cracked me up! Makes me think that thinking of pet names for my family members and friends that I may or may not write about in the future is a good idea…or perhaps more entertaining…

  7. earthstills says:

    This makes me smile – seems every family has one sucker who always stands in out of, what shall we say? honour, duty, obligation… on whom the rest of the tribe happily lean on, out of what shall we say? comfort, laziness, carelessness… So you and I will always wonder at what the bloody hell the reason is for being part of the former classification rather than the latter πŸ™‚ I loved reading your lament!!

  8. Garfield Hug says:

    Thank you earthstills….glad you dropped by and commented. I am that sucker ha ha…

Leave a Reply

