Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Unbalanced…..

on October 10, 2016

I am an idiot when it comes to balancing my own bank account.

1+1 =3 or 1+1 = 4 sometimes.๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Ha! But to be fair to begin with, I do not have many zeroes in my bank account. Heck no!! I will be lucky to have no zero. Lol!

Still it irked me to bits when my bank statement arrived month end and I could not account for $12.35!!

I hate it when this happens as it means I spent or miscounted the balance.

I usually keep a book of my income and expenses so as not to run into the red.

Other than recurring costs and the usual groceries or gas for car or the occasional splurge, I would usually balance it off to the cent evenly.

But not today….1 hour into it and I made little progress. 

First I found I had $1,000 +/- extra.

Whoopee but for one with a fixed salaried account, it was improbable!

No way Jose I said to self as I am not that rich ๐Ÿ˜‚….I finally found it as an error, adding extra $500 signaling double entry of the same amount or double counting.

Hmm so where is the other mistake of $500!

7 tranactions unaccounted for and none of it were clothes for Garfield๐Ÿ˜‰

Finally after much tracking, it showed a surplus of $12.35 of which I hurriedly took it off in my books.

Well, next month perhaps it will show I had a deficit of $12.35…then it will square off.

I hate accounting for my money. 

The Kardashians have no issues I bet as they are swimming in money and what is $12.35 to them when they can lose $10 million in a jewellery robbery at knife point on Kim.

I assure you Garfield is not bedazzled in carats nor gold bouillion bars! 

I am a wage earner on a budget๐Ÿ˜Ž

11 responses to “Unbalanced…..

  1. Same here…*sigh*no mystery money either…

  2. The V Pub says:

    One of life’s most annoying chores – balancing the budget!

  3. annascuisine says:

    Talking about money in our household stresses me out; especially when no one follows the budget. Argh!!! Then, I, the accountant, get blame when mishaps happen. I loath balancing the ledger. At least you only have to account for yourself, Ms G. Yay! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. scifihammy says:

    Always worth checking every statement and making sure it’s correct; banks do make mistakes! Nowadays you can usually check your spending on your phone, with every card use sending you a text, so you can watch your money disappearing as you spend it! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Seriously tho, we all have to stick to a budget. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I try not to think about money. That way, I forget to spend it …

Leave a Reply

