Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

How Chinatown Looks Like During Almost Chinese New Year

on January 19, 2017

It is 9 days to Chinese New Year!

The Rooster is on its way and I asked Bird Man to show me what Chinatown looked like now.

Gamely he took these photos “live” and sent them to me as he shopped with his family at Chinatown.

Everything looked so festive with auspicious red lanterns, decorative items for homes.

People crush was what came to mind when I saw this as it came through whats app! 

Oh my…the crowd is jam packed!

I am squeamish about crowded places.

I loved this one above as the paper cut decorative hanging items are really symbolic of Chinese New Year auspicious mood.

Dyed bunches of pussywillows adorn the shops and colorful paper wrappers caught my eye.

20 responses to “How Chinatown Looks Like During Almost Chinese New Year

  1. It does look crowded…fun though!

  2. HN says:

    so festive! I like the lighted lanterns and paper cut outs. Lunar New Year where I am is quiet, more of a private celebration. This year I am ready with crispy new twenty dollar bills for the little nephews and nieces. Last year the bank ran out so I had to iron the ones I had! πŸ™‚
    Have a good day at work tomorrow…. I will be sad, watching the inauguration of the new US president on TV.

  3. linjiang says:

    Will there be lion dancing?

  4. The Faceless Book says:

    Cool! I wrote about the chinese new year here in SΓ£o Paulo. I discovered is the biggest celebration out of China in the World while I was writing! :O

  5. Great photos! Thanks for sharing about Chinese new Year. It’s my year (Rooster)

  6. Amazing photos! Just looking at them makes you feel the festive mood. I will be watching the celebration in London tomorrow which is also very great every year. Probably I will post some photos very soon. Happy Chinese New Year !!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

