Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Everybody’s Birthday Today – 7th Day Of CNY & Weekend Work

on February 3, 2017

Happy Birthday everyone!

Traditionally in the Chinese Lunar Calendar, today is the 7th day of Chinese New Year (CNY) or everybody’s birthday!

But my happiness of potentially sharing a meal with family went out the window.

Sheesh!

Dragon Lady strikes again. 

This weekend we have to work again and there is no replacement off days nor time off in lieu.

I had needed some time off for taking my dad for his medical appointment as well as sort out my own follow up doctor’s apoointments but was denied it. Double Sheesh!!

I will have my pay docked for this.

So, she is indeed a female version of Electrical Lord, with little compassion, despite my openess in sharing with her of this need prior to joining.

Ahh well…the economy is not bouyant and so, she can be a tyrant as we are beholden to her for a job.

It is sad to see everyone of us working more than 14 hours daily with no dinner break.

Life…..hopefully she will find it in her heart to have empathy and compassion.

Meanwhile….I learnt a new way to stop a cyber attack! LOL!

Also a great sage’s advice…

Thursday….long working week for us…laugh we must!

19 responses to “Everybody’s Birthday Today – 7th Day Of CNY & Weekend Work

  1. Lol…jokes!
    I hope you do get time to sort your appointments…DL still has to be better than EL…surely?

  2. When I was in Indonesia, some policemen arrested me for some BS reason. I repeatedly told them “tourist, no English”.

    I was able to somehow get out of that situation by BSing my way…

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Aahhh..I know this trick too!! Works well! Indonesia cops and Malaysian cops all “appreciate” $. In Malaysia the going rate for speeding is MYR50. One gets away with it. Thankfully in my lil red dot, any speedsters try that, they go faster to jail and stay longer tooπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      • Idon’t like to drive fast so I was driving properly when they stopped me. One of them said that I am under arrest for “driving dangerously”. When I pretended to not understand them, one of the cops asked for my passport, So I got my passport from my bag, and in the process, put 100 USD in it. Afterwards, everything was fine…

        In HK, this kind of thing will never happen…

      • Garfield Hug says:

        Wow!! You overpaid those bad bad cops. Yes HK under British before keep same high standards. Indonesia and Malaysia or Thailand it is rampant!

      • I wasn’t familiar of the going rate there so I can’t risk it. While I know several people in Malaysia or even Thailand, I don’t know anybody in Indonesia so I had to avoid any potential troubles.

      • Garfield Hug says:

        Yes. Agree. Safe than sorry. Still you are brave to drive in those countries. Have a great weekend. Hope HK is cool and you are enjoying spring!

      • I lived in the Philippines for quite a while so dealing with unscupulous cops isn’t new to me. Though I would definitely prefer to not encounter their crowd any day :).

        This year’s “winter” is disappointing. The temperature didn’t even drop below 11 degrees. Those sellers of winter clothes are now starting to count their losses…

        I had quite a laugh at those children who were forced by their parents to wear those traditional Chinese New Year clothes though. Wearing that kind of clothes in the middle of the afternoon (and 24 degrees) is no joke!

      • Garfield Hug says:

        Oh my…that is warm in HK! I can imagine those poor children “melting”

  3. HN says:

    Happy Birthday GH! Interesting…I wonder why the 7th day? For us it is the 1st day of New Year.

  4. scifihammy says:

    It isn’t fair that you work weekends but do not get other days off in compensation, or extra pay. To then dock your pay for doctors visits is very unfair.
    My one daughter had to work last weekend, but she will get a day off when she chooses.
    You are right – it is very tough working in Singapore.

Leave a Reply

