Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

K Cuts – Hair Cuts At $10 In 10 Minutes

on February 6, 2017

I have been struggling with my regular hairstylist that charges me $18 for a hair cut without frills of a wash or scalp massage.

My screwed on neck cannot handle the stretch and alcove of the ceramic sink and so instead of $35, I pay $18 minus the fuss.

I have no issue with her styling but I have issues with her shop location’s parking.

It is almost impossible to get parking and she is insistent on specific times for hair cut. If I miss that, then I have to wait. But for cyring out loud I was a stone throw’s away but I could not get a parking lot!

I have explained to her that I do no drive a Ferrari or a Porsche and I cannot be there in a click of a time.

So on Sunday, I mustered up courage to try Korean stylist K Cuts at $10 in 10 minutes.

As a newbie, I learnt that I had to slot a $10 bill into the machine to get a ticket. My ticket read 208!

I was 5th in line and the only lady amongst men as I sit and wait my turn, I am amazed at how cut hair on the floor is pushed to a slot at the bottom of cupboards and it gets sucked into it.

So neat and tidy!

Unlike my stylist who has to use a dust pan and broom, sweeping only after a couple more customers have had their hair trimmed.

My K Cut Stylist is Poh Ling. She has been doing this for 10 years and I could see her cutting style was not bad as she went through the customers before me.

I had to wait for 50 minutes before my turn came. Which was right, 10 minutes per customer and I was the 6th customer.

She took out a brand new comb and started my hair cut using both scissors and clippers.

I chatted with her and she said that my hair tends to poof up! She thins and layers my hair, explaining that I should keep my right side of my hair longer so that it can flow better.

Not bad for $10! I get advice for haircut, offer of the brand new comb used for me, to take home if I’d like.

I was a satisfied customer and will definitely return.

Based on the number of 210 when I left, this meant that in 8 hours she made ticket sales of $2,100 for K Cuts!

Not bad and she was every bit polite and professional too! Masked with a surgical mask she was a one person show and politely asked to be excused to go to the ladies.

I was glad I mustered courage to try. Sometimes good deals are indeed good deals and admittedly her haircut was better than my stylist!

14 responses to “K Cuts – Hair Cuts At $10 In 10 Minutes

  1. oh, good, u got a new haircut person who is better than the previous one and cheaper too. and she does men’s hair too. if she had been doing it for 10yrs, how come u never heard of her till now? how did u get to know about her?

    • Garfield Hug says:

      K Cuts is a Korean chain and to me, $10 in 10 minutes deterred me from trying as being a lady, my worry was if my hair was massacred! Ha ha! The signage did not say she has 10 yrs experience. Still I hope they do not rotate her away the next time I go in a month’s time😊

      • sounds like she is catering to men , and their haircut. as a man i dont mind having a hair cut that is so quick. in fact i prefer it. she is a quick worker, if she takes 10mins to do your hair. women’s hair styles take up much more time i think. whilst a man’s haircut, short back and sides can be done quick. even so, the barbers here in london dont work that fast.

      • Garfield Hug says:

        She has a large clientele for ladies she shared. So I think she is adept for both. These days in lil red dot our stylists cut for both men and ladies. Barbers are passe and quite “dead” or obsolete now ha ha

      • oh, kind of sad that there are fewer men barbers. when i was studying there, many years ago, the govt has dictated how long a man’s haircut should be. no hair below the collar, for eg. is that still enforced? if so, it seems to me there is more need for men barbers.

      • Garfield Hug says:

        No. These days govt has relaxed long hair ruleπŸ˜‰

      • ah, have they become more tolerant? haha. but i guess the chewing gum rule still applies right? what about the one child rule, has that also gone?

      • Garfield Hug says:

        Chewing gum rule firmly maintained. Now advocating the more children the better! Low replacement rate. Good bonus incentives for more children

  2. scifihammy says:

    It’s always nerve wracking trying a new hairdressers, but you lucked out! πŸ™‚

  3. I am also skeptical about how a 10-minute hair cut for $10 can be any good, but after reading your post, maybe I’ll give it a try! πŸ™‚

  4. Very brave of you πŸ™‚ I haven’t had my hair cut since about March last year…I just hack the ends off myself ha ha ha!!

  5. Neethu says:

    Awesome..😊

Leave a Reply

