Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Come Veggie Shopping With Me

on February 15, 2017

I only do groceries at supermarkets as I do not have time to visit a wet market to pick my own veggies, fish or pork cuts.

My mum does that as she prefers to lift the flaps of fishes” gills to check for freshness.

I believe mum likes marketing at the wet market because she loves chit chatting with the butcher as he reccommends her “choice cuts” of the day.

Also chatting up the fish monger such that the fishes are descaled and chopped to the right sizes for her cooking needs.

For me, I don’t know how to do all that. So long as the pork looks red enough or fish looks “alive” ha ha then it suffices.

Besides, I also take the veggie packets as they are and often I get dead bits of veggies in the packetπŸ€” – not perfect sometimes!

Our local chain is a union cooperative called NTUC Fairprice Supermarket.

They are smart to import veggies under their housebrand called “Pasar” which means market in Malay.

Veggies are grow in their co-owned farms in Indonesia or China or an Asian country they partner with.

They also farm pigs in Indonesia and Malaysia alongside with poultry.

My favorite 2 veggies; Chye Sim or Chinese Greens and Butterhead Lettuce.

I love to blanch French Beans and eat it as it is. Crunchy and naturally flavorful.

Below is an array of our local veggies. We love leafy greens and having lived in Eugene, Oregon, Australia (WA, Adelaide, NSW and Queensland) the most available is Chye Sim. 

The rest are harder to find.


I love Alfalfa sprouts with sandwiches.

I am lucky in that veggies prices are affordable and does not follow season.

My sister shared that in Auckland, veggies are dependent on season and priced to match demand and supply.

So some of her favorite greens become exorbitant during winter.

Thank you for going grocery shopping with me today and learning about our local choices for veggies.

7 responses to “Come Veggie Shopping With Me

  1. HN says:

    I buy my meats and fish already cleaned and cut too. In the summer I like the Farmer’s Market for produce, especially corn. They have to be washed with lots of water, but I find that they last longer in the refrigerator than the packaged ones. Thanks for the tour! πŸ™‚

  2. scifihammy says:

    Your veggies look fresh to me and a huge selection. I enjoyed the tour of your supermarket. πŸ™‚
    Our veggies are also more seasonal, like your sister and all our food prices just keep on rising!

  3. Interesting post πŸ™‚
    We have regulations at the moment about the size and shape etc. of veg, but Asda do “Wonky Veg” boxes, all fresh, assorted things for Β£3.50…

Leave a Reply

