Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

And So The Story Goes #56

on February 21, 2017

This morning was my regular follow up at the hospital.

Prof Fong is always a dear and keeps me laughing always.

But today there was a strange seriousness about him. I did not like it!

I was told the bad news! 

There is heavy inflammation in your muscles. It is usually this high if someone ran a gruelling 42km marathon.

Hmm, I was in no way fit to a run round the soccer field, much less a gruelling marathon with my bag of bones! Haizzz!!

It may be drug induced but highly unlikely my Professor added.

It seems I must be watched like a hawk and more trips to have my blood taken till it abates. It made sense as my neck and thighs have been in pain and I have been stoically staying away from pain meds.

Prof said that I must start taking it.

Prof is hopeful it is one off, but he was skeptical as he feared my autoimmune cells are acting up. Sigh!

So what are the next steps?

The proverbial nothing can be done was articulated. Double sigh!

I walked out of the hospital feeling down.

Ms Bare Midriff text me to say she wanted to discuss work. Idiot! I am on unpaid half day leave to see the doctor and she still wants me to work during this time.

I needed peace. I needed tranquility to process the words Prof articulated to me.

In a daze I text MR EX as I needed his sarcasm.

ME

“Bad news at the hospital. My muscles are weakening and heavily inflammed. No wonder I have been in pain😭”

MR EX

“Sorry to hear that. But remember to wash your backside”

ME

“Aargh! If muscles weak and in pain how to clean backside?πŸ˜‘

You will have to clean it or famously hire a helper for me!”

MR EX

“It’s not provided for in Budget 2017. I’ll ask CDC Elderly Committee to propose to the Minister”

ME

“You are horrid! Budget 2017 includes today and tomorrow lah! Minister Heng say liao! You just have to work harder only mah. Haizzz you just clean my backside πŸ˜ƒ and shaddup!”
And so the story goes…..as silence ensued.

I felt cheered up. 

If MR EX did not care, he would not have replied. Sarcasm or otherwise, it mattered to him as despite his hectic schedule, he replied, even if it was to annoy me!

NOTE1

Budget 2017 was just unveiled by our Finance Minister Heng Swee Kiat yesterday at 3.30pm. It screamed headlines in today’s papers “A Budget For Today & Tomorrow”

Back to work in 3 hours time…..

12 responses to “And So The Story Goes #56

  1. Sorry to hear this 😦 Is it a build up of something like lactic acid in your muscles then your body can’t get rid of it? Just wondering whether lemon juice might help..it’s good for neutralising the body’s levels..I hope you feel better soon though *ordinary hugs because I can’t do Garfield Hugs* :)xx

  2. Hira says:

    I hope you get well soon .. Take care.

  3. Smiling through the tears … cheerful in the face of adversity, as always!

  4. awe gee, G-Hug ❀ Hope the inflammation subsides soon!!! 😦 πŸ’œ Jackie@KWH

Leave a Reply

