Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Time Heals….Or Not?

on March 10, 2017

It is easy to mouth the words that time heals.

Most times, healing leaves scars or we say keloids.

These physical scars or keloids remind me of physical wounds that may have healed but the emotional time it took to heal and the pain or suffering that came with it.

Aah but emotional scars are worst. 

No one can see these and it may be hidden by smiles and laughter but deep down it can truly hurt.

Emotional wounds and scars are harder to heal and the balm soothsayers quip is forgive and forget.

Hmm forgiving but not forgetting is real.

Forgiving and forgetting is challenging unless one loses mental faculties – dementia, amnesia, Alzheimer’s or heaven’s forbid, brain death.

I will be honest.

I find it hard to forgive and forget. But I have had help through repeated anaesthesia which brought about amnesia for a large part of my childhood life. 

My emotional scars and physical scars are real.

As to if I have forgiven, I doubt.

As to if I have forgotten? Some yes, some no.

What I do know is that whatever tenets or precepts or biblical verses failed me leaving me in spiritual limbo.

Journey on….life is a mystery…sometimes evil, often times not at all fun.

Friday….time to retreat into my own zone and lick my wounds. 

Will it heal? Will it scar?

Probably……

9 responses to “Time Heals….Or Not?

  1. mistermuse says:

    Great minds think alike — we’ve posted similar quotes on the same day! Thank you for the LIKE on my post, which includes the quote (by Faith Baldwin) which can be viewed here:

    http://theobservationpost.wordpress.com/

  2. scifihammy says:

    Aw – Sending many LM Hugs to you and Garfield!
    I feel the same. It might look like we have healed, but emotional scars run deep.
    i also find it very hard to forgive and forget. Maybe old age will be a blessing in this regard!
    Cheer up tho – it is Friday after all!
    A whole weekend of time to yourself to do what you want. πŸ™‚

  3. GP Cox says:

    Jeez I love your posts – I still can’t stop laughing!

  4. You are obviously psychic…very relevant post for me as well today…hugs all round, I think XOXO

Leave a Reply

