Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Landscaping Plants Lining Sidewalk In Lil Red Dot

on March 20, 2017

It is great having a camera phone as it gives me an immediate action of taking photos whenever a blog post idea arises when I see something that  catches my eyes and feel it is worth sharing.

Today as I trotted out and about for a short walk, I saw trees that reminded me of Australian Gum Trees.

The tree trunks were white and peeling. This was planted along the side walk flanking a road.

Yes, in lil red dot we love greening our roads.

Not forgetting that the hardy bougainvillea bushes give out lovely flowers when it gets really hot! 

It has been a sweltering 34C daily and my car if parked in the sun all day registers 36.5C when I enter it to drive home from work at 6pm. Phew!! Hot! Hot!😎

Interesting to see that the weed we call lallang is now widely use as a landscaping plant!

I did a quote to landscape our office garden and for 2,000 sq m, I received a whopping quote of $160,000!

Jeepers….for weeds?!🤑

Well, we do live in an island city state but thankfully our government continues to green it, ensuring lush greenery!

This was the vision of our fore fathers; Mr Lee Kuan Yew, our first Prime Minister who passed in 2015 and the late Dr Goh Keng Swee, Dy Prime Minister. Thank you for teaching us to preserving a green lung!

8 responses to “Landscaping Plants Lining Sidewalk In Lil Red Dot

  1. Interesting…I like the grasses, that middle one we call cats’ tails 🙂 xx

  2. HN says:

    The trees look so pretty. I think trees with peeling barks are interesting to look at, i.e. sycamores

Leave a Reply

