Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Reminiscing Or Wincing Or Both

on March 31, 2017

I grew up watching Wheel Of Fortune and Jeopardy in my formative years. 😉

My early years were spent on Sesame Street, Tom & Jerry, Bugs Bunny, Donald Duck and Mickey.

Then came Scooby Doo!

As I age, I wonder if I will be ravaged by mental robbers like dementia or Alzheimers! Darn, those robbers are mean as they can take away my everything including self dignity! Sheesh!

Today, as I accompanied my dad to see his neurosurgeon for follow up on his benign meningioma, I was given a reality check. His memory is failing!

As we age, we suffer from memory loss. We do have “reserve” grey cells but once depleted, we spiral and it becomes a vicious cycle. The only way was to keep active but my dad is lazy.

Dad, has lately been exhibiting memory loss and I am worried.

So, off I trotted with him to see his doctor.

I have to face facts that my dad may indeed have pre-dementia or dementia. 

Regardless, he has to be assessed at Memory Clinic and followed up by aneurologist and a geriatrician.

I am alone in this new struggle. I suspect it is dementia and am now trying to figure out how to manage this, if it is.

My siblings are only spectators. Their reasoning to appease self conscience is – ta dah!! “I live overseas, not my problem”- certainly not their problem as out of sight, our of mind.

It is interesting that parents bring up kids, leave them inheritances when they pass on but hey, children like my siblings “wear blinkers” and expect inheritance!

Gee…remind me again…why I am single?! Answer is…cos I don’t want moronic children to inherit my Garfields and leave me like a lonely bag lady, possibly mindless!😄 Based on statistics today, this is highly possible!

So long as my “marbles” in the skull are intact, I will remember to make a note that any pittance I may have left of my singlehood goes to charity!

Moral of my story is, why should anyone give anything or even pennies to siblings who sees one only as “of use” and not as family. 

More so, why can’t they give some love, care or concern to parents who brought them up – fed, clothed, schooled and expected to leave them bags of monies…sure makes me re-think my singlehood. 

Blessing or curse?

Aaah well Garrrrrfield…where are you? I need a hug….

And when I grow old, may I still have my mental and physical faculties to continue to do pranks, watch cartoons, blog and share laughs with lemonade.

5 responses to “Reminiscing Or Wincing Or Both

  1. Hahaha! Love the last pic! I now need to go and stay in a hotel ASAP…!
    Sorry to hear about your dad-it isn’t easy, and I know how you feel xo

  2. scifihammy says:

    I’m very sorry to hear about your Dad’s failing memory. It does happen to us all to some extent, but as you say, dementia or Alzheimer’s is on another level.
    And there always does seem to be the one child who shoulders all the responsibilities of taking care of their parents in their old age, while the other siblings look on. I have seen it so often with my friends. However, you will never regret any time spent making your parents’ lives more comfortable. 🙂
    Garfield Hugs to you – and Yay! You made it to Friday! 😀

  3. mistermuse says:

    Even better: leave a knife sticking out of the ‘dead body’ with ketchup stains around the ‘wound’ (but don’t be shocked if the hotel bills you for murdering their blanket). 😦

Leave a Reply

