Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Breakfast, Ala Lil Red Dot Style

on April 19, 2017

I remember having different types of breakfasts in different lands.

When I first had to work in Stavanger, Norway, I was stunned to see alot of cold meats, fruits, yoghurt, breads, types of milk and cereals. Quite a spread!

There wasn’t much hot food served other than scrambled eggs and mini sausages.

I soon learnt this to be “continental breakfast”

As I lived in that hotel for 2 weeks every quarter, I got used to it so much so that I learnt to appreciate hard, heavy breads that were chokeful of seeds. It was yummy and when toasted with butter, or dipped in olive oil it was scrumptious!

Living in America in my student days, I stayed in an apartment or townhouse of my own.

I tried American breakfasts…McDonalds etc…all bad for health. I decided to make my own toast and cereal but I got bored and my Lil Red Dot roots kicked in.

In Lil Red Dot, you have a variety of choices. 

Our Asian choices are best!

There is Carrot Cake (*not your cake you eat in a delicatassen) which is made of glutinous rice flour, fried with eggs, shrimps or mince pork if you like, dribbled with garlic and shallots garnished with spring onions or parsely.

It can be cooked “white” or “black” in sweet soya sauce.

Another top seller is Nasi Lemak. This is rice cooked in coconut milk served with side dishes of fried eggs, fish or prawn otah, deep fried chicken wings, fish cake and vegetables. 

Sometimes we eat mee goreng or fried noodles with satay.

We love our savories and not sweets…at least for me ๐Ÿ˜‰

Or Indian pratas with curry.

In fact in lil red dot, breakfast food is anything your fancy.

There is no restriction and we are not one nation that settles for plain toast. It has to be cinnamon french toast ha ha!

Our chains of bakeries have buns on the run, filled with different fillings, ranging from sweet red bean or azuki beans, to sweet roasted pork or plain croissants.

As you see, we are a foodie nation ๐Ÿ˜‰

Breakfast is truly exciting and we eat anytime….anytime is a good time!

7 responses to “Breakfast, Ala Lil Red Dot Style

  1. I really enjoy your food posts, so interesting to see what’s on offer…I just tend to have breakfast biscuits and tea…very exciting…used to have cigarettes too-not any more lol!!

    • Garfield Hug says:

      I am so proud of you giving up cigarettes! *Claps loudly*
      I like a simple breakfast of instant coffee or tea, cream crackers or 1 pc McVities Digestive and or 1 pc Marks & Spencer Rich Tea – breakfast for me ha ha! Food of Champions๐Ÿ˜Š

      • That’s virtually what I have! Belvita biscuits are like thin digestives with chocolate chips in..and thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Been about 8 months now since I had a cigarette! ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Garfield Hug says:

          8 months!! Time flies as I remember you sharing you started quitting!! I know Belvita….but hey choc chips? We don’t have that with choc chips but digestives with choc….I cannot afford in calories ha ha!

          • I know..time really does go quickly! I didn’t think it was that long myself till I counted it out on my fingers…
            And I know…I shall have to start calorie counting. I don’t like the other other flavours of Belvita either..!

  2. scifihammy says:

    In the old days, breakfast was cold meats etc Only nowadays do we have an array of cereals or the ‘traditional’ bacon and eggs you might get at a hotel – if not the Continental breakfast you mention in Norway.
    I have cereal every morning, but try to cut down on carbs for the rest of the day. Breakfast is my favourite meal! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

