Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

If I Need Not Be Working, I’d Be…..

on May 3, 2017

If I need not be working, I’d go fishing! 

Fishing pole or hand line in tow, dressed in my jeans and t shirt, wrapped up warmly as my feet with sneakers dangling over my favorite jetties in Australia. Yes…I like winter fishing!

Below is the jetty that faces Quest Service Apartments in Fremantle, Perth.

Or I could be in Auckland New Zealand, just sitting on the jetty feeling the tranquil waters.

If I need not be working, I would be dedicating more time for self to be in glorious vineyards, sipping wines…thinking of an ” old bastard” I used to know….I kid you not, there is a wine label by that name!

Quite literally it fitted an old sot of a Danish boss I once knew who decided I was too smart and that I jeopardised his declining years at the firm we worked whereby his job description was to read papers, drink freshly ground coffee from Jura machine and make my life hell so that I would go. 

He did look like this old coot in the label ha ha!

Think of the glorious vineyards I would be in…

Visiting Lake Breeze in Adelaide…

Or just sitting and watching koalas in the eucalyptus trees…

Or just sitting and watching the gulls act like scavengers, or stealing from picnickers!

Or admirimg that solitary gull having a poignant moment! I wonder what goes on in that gull’s head.

Yes….if only I can afford not to work…and live the life of a happy traveller in my journey of life.

*all the photos were taken by me in my travels before my spinal surgeries. At the time, I already had leg stiffness and could not understand why it was hard to climb up and down our rented MPV.

The rest is as they say…history😊

12 responses to “If I Need Not Be Working, I’d Be…..

  1. calmkate says:

    Great therapy to dream and share such tranquil settings, good for you!

  2. scifihammy says:

    Lovely peaceful vistas. This is where you can go in your mind any time you need a holiday. 🙂
    Otherwise, you can go there when you get to take time off – or eventually retire. 🙂
    We also have a wine label similar to yours, it’s called Fat Bastard! 😀

  3. mistermuse says:

    Some 50 years ago on a vacation trip out west (western states of the U.S.), I had an after-dinner cold one called MOOSE DROOL Brown Ale, brewed by the Big Sky Brewing Co., Missoula, Montana. I still have the label off of that bottle, so I guess you could say I’m an Old Bastard with a cool souvenir.

Leave a Reply

