Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

A Bird In Hand, Another Is In The Bush

on May 6, 2017

I find it so hard to explain sometimes and am always branded “wrong” like a cattle emblazoned with a heat poker.

I am always branded as an arguer or being difficult….maybe I am the Cape Crusader for Injustice of Sorts. Sigh!

My worklife and home life has been riddled with difficult employers and members who are always right and never wrong.

I am always wrong, never right and disallowed from arguing!

Well, at 7.30pm last night I saw a missed call. I hazarded a guess it was from the offerer whom I shall now name Sea Lord. After 2 rounds…..a month later….the verdict is at hand.

Decisions are fast and clicks when apt…9.30am and lo and behold…the bird is now held in my hand by 7.30pm.

I do have another bird in the bush and I would like to catch that one too.

Now now…

I know I must not be greedy as the old adage goes….”a bird in hand is worth 2 in the bush”

But the Bird in the bush is worth 120 times more than the Bird in hand. Sigh…

I am unsure if I can ensnare that pricier Bird in the Bush though as my bait may not be attractive. This is my second round and the buck would stop at this head honcho’s level

I still have heaps of paperwork to complete for Sea Lord. As an old fashioned firm, they do not believe in transactions online. 

I have to visit them next week and get certification of fitness to work, as if I am expected to haul bricks, dive deep into the depths of the sea like Jacque CousteauπŸ€”

Ha ha! 

Tuesday….let’s see if I can catch the bird in the bush as that would help me be better off economically.

But do I want the politics that come with a pricier tag?

How do I decide?

Price?

Job description?

Option A (*Bird in Hand…)

Low price tag = lesser work? This is untrue as having worked with EL and DL they are nasty.

Option B (*Bird in the Bush…may fly)

High price tag = more work + politics?

Pray tell how should I choose?

16 responses to “A Bird In Hand, Another Is In The Bush

  1. frankly, i would go for the money, the higher the better. i think all bosses are the devil to work for, so if i have to endure them, i want to get paid a huge load of money to make it worthwhile.

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Thanks for honest advice. I tend to see that too. My fear was to be paid fairly little but get same load of rubbish is what scares me.

      • what u might like to deal with is to limit the hours where u are expected to listen to lectures from the boss. i find it inexplicable that employees are expected to stay overtime to listen to lectures from the bosses outside their hours of work. why none give their excuses and go is a mystery. if u are firm about that right from the start, u wont be taken advantage of.

  2. calmkate says:

    I’d proceed with your current offer and pray like hell that the second one comes in before the other job is started … keep your options open! But above advice is also wise … make it very clear at the very beginning that you will only be working your paid hours! Any weekend work, overtime lectures, etc must be paid at the correct rate or you walk out at your designated leave time.
    What I have often done is agreed to work as needed but emphasised that I will always take time in lieu … worked well for me. Set up the rules and conditions that you want …

  3. scifihammy says:

    The other Comments make a lot of sense.
    It’s really difficult to make these choices, as you could choose the lower salary, only to find you are working just as much. Hopefully you get two firm offers on the table and a much better employer. It looks like it might be, if they are employees too.
    In the end, write out a list of Pros and Cons for each position, and add in your gut feeling, then take the plunge!
    Good Luck – and here’s to a better future. πŸ™‚

  4. Hmm. Tricky…obviously you want the best deal for you. Some good advice in the above comments, but go with what feels RIGHT. You can do this πŸ’– sending hugs and hope πŸ˜ΊπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’ž

  5. Best of luck for whichever option your heart tells you to choose, and many blessings for it turning out to be the right choice!

Leave a Reply

