Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

This & That 

on May 7, 2017

It seems our import of fruits from Cape Town, South Africa is rising and I am not complaining.

In fact, I am amazed that they export apples, pears, plums, grapes, apricots…which I never knew they could grow.

Comparatively huge difference in cost to, when compared to NZ or Australia where pears traditionally come from. Almost 50% cost difference.

I found a new supermarket that I could easily access in terms of trolley to car and am glad as prices here are much lesser than the usual one I go to.

Cape Town sounds like a place to visit…I wonder if they grow strawberries or blackberries 🤔?

15 responses to “This & That 

  1. scifihammy says:

    Really interesting to see our fruit packaged for you in Lil Red Dot. – it doesn’t look like that on our shelves. 🙂 And I’m glad you are not overcharged. 🙂
    To answer your question, pretty much everything grows here. I do know we have strawberries – they are massive due to lots of sun! I’m not sure about blackberries being commercially available.
    Our apples are yummy, and as it’s a winter fruit – look out for that on your shelves shortly! 🙂

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Oh..how are your fruits packaged in SA? Interesting that you have every kind of fruit. Lil Red Dot has not imported your strawberries yet as largely these are from USA, Australia, NZ, S Korea and Japan (*Japanese fruits are super expensive e.g a punnet can go for $50 and melons go for $100 each) I stick to Malaysia or USA where it is cheaper under $5 each. Yes I have seen your apples. Gala is sound here.

  2. Interesting…we have an apple tree in our garden that my partner grew from a pip. Not great for eating but they do make nice pies 😺💞xx

  3. Garfield Hug says:

    Oh…lemon is fantastic too. Plse try and tell me how you find the taste.

Leave a Reply

