Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Happy Vesak Day

on May 9, 2017

Today, 10 May 2017, our  lil red dot celebrates Vesak Day.  It is a public holiday and I am relishing a short week of 4 work days 😊

Vesak Day is for Buddhists to celebrate the birth, death and enlightenment of Buddha. It is also Buddha’s birthday.

Many devotees will do the 3 step 1 bow ritual all the way to Phor Khah See Monastery and also pour ladles of water over a statue of Budhha possibly to cleanse as when bathing baby Buddha, Prince Siddhartha.

The prostration by devotees with palms out symbolises a devotee’s veneration and respect for Lord Buddha and self sacrifice doing a long journey of 3 steps 1 bow to fulfill their promise to Buddha perhaps for a granted wish. Or just as a symbol of their love for Buddha and Buddha blessings.

From 5pm Tuesday night to Wednesday, devotees will perform this ritual over kilometers either at a stadium or enrout to a buddhist temple.

It is not easy as they kneel on the road tarmac…I admire their devotion to Buddha walking barefoot doing kneels, prostrate and arise to do this ritual till the route completes.

Wishing all Buddhists a holy Vesak Day Celebration and blessings to all and their families.

*English translation

I send you a lotus flower,

Giving you a heart filled with peace and serenity.

I send you good fortune and luck,

Giving you peace in worldly items.

I send you a peaceful heart,

Giving you daily happiness.

I send you good health,

Giving you daily peace and safety blessed with good health.

Happy Vesak Day!

11 responses to “Happy Vesak Day

  1. calmkate says:

    yeh, and my nephew birthday! Happy Vesak

  2. scifihammy says:

    Enjoy your free time. πŸ™‚
    I wish we’d been taught about other religions at school. I think Buddhism is a very peaceful religion.
    btw – again your post was not in my WP Reader. I had to come visit your blog.

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Thanks for the headsup. I wrote to WP to help. I can see it on my reader. I also tried tagging it. It seems Africa and UK has this glitch as Samantha shared too. Grateful thanks for coming to my blog site to read. I hope it gets fixed soon.☺

  3. Your posts still aren’t showing 😿😿 have you posted today?
    Interesting post as well, we should have learned more about world religions. πŸ˜ΊπŸ’žxx

Leave a Reply

