Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Round 3….Pricier Bird

on May 16, 2017

Tonight I will meet with the Pricier Bird. All this wooing about, is really taking a toll as I have to play a cat and mouse game with DL to get out of her land.

I am unsure how many more rounds will I have to go through, before I can sight an offer in hand or the pricier bird being clutched in my palm.

But thankfully, Pricier Bird is kind to allow me to trot over after office hours. This shows flexibility in their approach towards minion.

I am unsure about the rest of the world, but in our lil red dot, the call from our Supreme Leader is to be adept, adapt to change and accept the new economy. Work methods, work styles are changing, this is in tandem with technological advancements.

The biggest downfall to DL is her lack of ability to change nor embrace new management styles to match the changing times.

DL fails to acknowledge Gen X, Gen Y, Strawberry Generation or millennials. DL is oblivious to the way these minions think or react. Style, tone and mannerism must be able to accommodate and match the mindsets of these minions.

I am heeding the call of our Supreme Leader. I have adapted and changed, swopping from industries that were once boom town Charlies to waning performances when the oil prices fell.

Marine and shipping also went downhill.

Electrical Lord was in retail and today, retail sector is suffering with poor sales. Departmental Stores in US, UK have shuttered and I silently pray that my favorite Marks and Spencer will not bow out of lil red dot.

It was bad enough that we lost an almost 100 year old department store, John Littles, to E Commerce.

Times change, people change and climates change.

I need to constantly change and remain relevant, else I become obsolete and displaced.

I must never become like DL in character, style or manner – I must treat people with empathy, compassion and genuine interest in their well being.

I sincerely hope I stand an opportunity with Pricier Bird.

Meanwhile, Bird in Hand is sealed.

20 responses to “Round 3….Pricier Bird

  1. calmkate says:

    I am sure you stand a good chance or you would not have got this far and they wouldn’t be so flexible about the time of the interview!

    I’m also very sure that you adapt and are kind to all … all my visits to Singapore and I didn’t know you had a Marks and Sparks, my UK favourite … I would have shopped there every visit … damn.

  2. The V Pub says:

    I agree with Kate. Best of luck!!!

  3. Amy says:

    Good luck to you! The change we are facing is so rapid…

  4. Crossing EVERYTHING for ultimate luck! I really hope it goes well -massive hugs and luck and positivity πŸ’•πŸ˜ΊπŸ’•πŸ’žxxooxx

  5. As always, very revealing … brings home just what a global village we all live in!

Leave a Reply

