Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Reflections & Appreciating Good Architecture On My Walk…Part 1

on May 30, 2017

I have been feeling down lately. 

Too many things in my little brain and the hamster in the wheel is a tad tiredπŸ˜‰

I could not understand why my last 3 Lords were employers from hell….DL was a tad better than EL.

Probabilities or was it me?

I dug deep within self. 

I worked like a dog, was used, berated and treated unkindly. 

This started with Scorpion, followed by EL and then DL.

In order of horridness, EL leads the pack, followed by DL and then Scorpion King.

A member of family accused me of being the “worthless cur”and sentenced me to “being the one with the problem. Sigh! 

I often wonder why I listen or consider the comments of a “member of family” – these are not worthy people. 

Still, I had to do a reality check. I worry I if I was indeed the problem

But fact is, each of these places saw mass exodus and Chicken plus Bird were with me at Scorpion King and they concurred at how horrif that place was.

15 heads of Departments at EL all left. Turnover was on average 2 weeks. I lasted more than a year! I ought to get a medal for most abused 😊

Meanwhile my headaches sometimes do not end, neck feels like a ton supporting a heavy head with vertigo is acting up, followed by nose bleeds.

I guess I have to sort that out. Something new for my medical team to sort out?

Menieres or whatever, I do realise that when I am older, I could become deaf because of my ear problems.

News just announced on telly that by 2030, an estimated 1,000,000 people in lil red dot will get deaf as they listen to blaring music on headphones. I do no such thing. Just hugging my inanimate furball GarfieldπŸ˜ƒ

So I took a long walk amidst greenery. 

Nothing cheers me up than seeing nice architectural homes. These bungalows are easily priced ranging from SGD15,000,000 and even up to $25,000,000 as built up area is huge.

It is a shame that for the bungalow below, the helper hung bath towels over the balcony as it marred the beauty of this wooden second floor architecture.

I find this “cubism” styled architecture amusing.

This home featured below belonged to late President Ong Teng Cheong. I believe this is priceless.

He and his late wife were good architects.

Sadly they both succumbed to cancer in their 60s I think. 

I only remembered Mr Ong suffering from lymphoma then.

I suppose he saw the merits of this colonial styled bungalow and conserved it.

I am unsure if his children stays there now.

Tune in to part 2 to see the flora I chanced upon on my walk.

15 responses to “Reflections & Appreciating Good Architecture On My Walk…Part 1

  1. HN says:

    My favorite is Mr Ong’s house. My favorite house so far is the one in the movie called A Single Man. It was made almost entirely of glass, surrounded by tall trees.
    Sorry that you are feeling badly.

  2. its rare to see big houses set in its own garden in singapore. in fact i thought there are none. which area of singapore is this? i thought all available land is built up with flats or terraces.

    • Garfield Hug says:

      We do have pockets of good class bungalows in Singapore. Central was where I took these. Good class bungalows are sited usually in central which is like the Beverly Hills ha ha!

  3. calmkate says:

    nice way to chill out πŸ™‚

  4. Neethu says:

    Absolutely beautiful houses…😍

  5. Some lovely houses! I like architecture too, so really appreciated seeing these houses…I could quite happily live in any one of those!
    These nosebleeds could be stress-related you know… happens to me. Have you had your blood pressure checked recently? Fingers crossed, once you are settled in your new job with a decent boss theses issues will settle down and become more manageable. As for family…strikes me they sound a little jealous of just how well you are doing, blaming you is sour grapes. Smile sweetly..ignore them…and carry on! Lots of love to you! πŸ™‚ xxx

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Yes, the houses are lovely to live in provided I have butlers and maids in waiting! Aargh think of all the housework ha ha!
      Interesting on nosebleeds with stress. I believe so. Thankfully blood pressure is good! Ohhh you must stroke your pets more as it is good anti stress therapy. I will hug my inanimate furball thenπŸ˜‰
      Yes…I am hoping for a Lord to be nice. Fingers and toes crossed ha ha!

  6. scifihammy says:

    There’s nothing like taking a walk to clear your head. I hope it helped. πŸ™‚
    It is one of the ups (and downs!) of owning a dog – that you Have to walk it. But once out, a walk is always beneficial.
    Looking forward to your flora post. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

