Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Work Freedom – Day 4, A Walk In Healing Garden Part 1

on June 4, 2017

The Healing Garden is a section within our lil red dot’s UNESCO Heritage Botanical Gardens.

Today I decided to do 7,000 steps and hope that my back or left leg does not act up. 

Aptly, I chose the Healing Garden.

On entering, I could smell the aromatic fragrant pandan. For those who know not of this leaf, it has great botanical use.

Heaps were growing in abundance!

Used as a flavor in cakes and other local desserts, it also wards off cockroaches.

I used to put this on my kitchen windown sill to ward off lizards. But since our little estate’s garden was ripped up on account of untidiness by some occupants, my fresh and free supply of pandan leaves ended.

As I walked on, I enjoyed taking in photos of plants and reading about them and their uses for healing.

This time I am smarter as it had labels!

Below is a ginger plant that one can use leaves and rhizome for curries.

Below is a red spine spinach that actually tastes good with tempura flour and fried like tempura.

A family of wild pheasants or hens (*am unsure as hen seemed too small to be a hen to these chickedecided to cross my walking path.

They knew they had right of way ha ha!

Then, they decided to cross back!

Onward Ho as I walked on….and I learnt of Job’s Tears below. I was now in the “women’s health garden….Job’s Tears is a goodherbs or plants to treat urinary problems or menstrual disorders.

Above is Devil’s Backbone that is used to treat broken bones.

Below is Patchouli is used for treatment of anxiety and nervousness through aromatherapy.

I saw a patch of sugar cane growing and it is touted to have cooling properties…great to cool off on this drink made out of sugar cane.

The Healing Garden was all dotted with water features and I loved the tranquil water sounds.

Loved the way this tree is growing over and above the path, giving it a natural canopy.

And the way this tree below grew was an art in itself….straddled across the ground yet rising to lift its leaves and boughs above.

Below is Garcinia, a plant to treat abdominal pains, diarrhea and ulcers.

It was an educational and nice walk for me and I hope you enjoyed the plants as much as I did.

Plus I succeeded in achieving 7,182 steps! Whoo hoo!โ˜บ

Do read Part 2 of this post tomorrow and have a happy Sunday๐Ÿ˜Š

15 responses to “Work Freedom – Day 4, A Walk In Healing Garden Part 1

  1. Lovely photos and well done on your steps!

  2. calmkate says:

    delightful to do this walk with you ๐Ÿ™‚ love the pheasants!
    you will be so chilled out you might struggle to return to the grind ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. scifihammy says:

    How lovely to have this place of serenity to wander around and commune with nature. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks for sharing your walk with us. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Nice garden and nice photos.

  5. Neethu says:

    Wow ..I enjoyed going though each and every pic…Must have been wonderful and relaxing…Looking forward to the next part..๐Ÿ˜

  6. Fascinating…loved seeing the plants that I only see in dried form. That’s the first time I’ve ever seen patchouli growing..a lovely walk, thank you for sharing ๐Ÿ˜บ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿ’•

  7. mistermuse says:

    You should’ve taken Garfield with you. No doubt he could use the exercise, and those last two trees look easy enough for even a lazy cat to climb! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

