Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Work Freedom – Day 5, Catching Up With Classmate

on June 6, 2017

I would always scream “Maaarrrrleeeena!” down Ferry Street where we both lived in our town houses during our University Of Oregon days. She lived 2 doors away.

In good spirits she would do the same…..stretching on my real name….but for this post…”Gaaaarrrfield” πŸ˜‰

I would meet at her unit for dinners and chill a bit, before going home to study.

It has been almost a year since I last saw her as work kept me busy and she, equally busy taking care of her parents.

She used to be a high flier in private banking, tailoring to investment needs of the well heeled. But she had the intelligence to shove the corporate world after she learnt to make her money work for her. I do admire her financial savvyness!

I am not savvy with money making ideals. 

I am one of those who rigorously scrimp and save and too afraid to invest in this or that. The rest is history.

Hmm the people around me take risks. 

Mr EX takes huge risks but claims he is always in debt. 

I believe he “lies” (*House M.D. has the best saying…”everybody lies!” LOL) as he does not look like a pauper though owing $15 million he claims. 

If you see him spend, you will be in awe or be like me, jaw drops! LOL!

Aah well I guess all businessmen “owe” dollars. 

No wonder I am not one. 

But I still owe dollars for basic roof. All Singaporeans own a home and strive through mortgage payments. Our national policy of everyone owing a home is a good one! I gotta thank our late Mr Lee Kuan Yew for that.😊

With my good friend Marleeeena I can go crazy or zany! I can forget adulthood woes.

I can talk about anything under the sun.

She also feels I should stay away from Mr EX as he is of “no good” – and I don’t disagree. 

He is selfish and expecting me to be at his beck and call when he needs me but never around if I need a hand. 

To me, he is just a useful subject for my “And So The Story Goes” series πŸ˜‰ – so he does make self “useful” πŸ˜ƒ

But so long as MR EX just provide “hees and haws” plus I giving him and he gives me a listening ear then so be it.

With Marleeena, I can be honest. 

We used to have our 99 cents ice cream treat on Fridays at Prince Puckler’s stand. I go with the neighbors for a walk as I am lactose intolerant, watching them tuck into their sundaes or cones.

Even in dead of winter, we would crawl out in the rain and cold to get this icey treat. It was our Friday de-stress session.

She was born into a Catholic family like me. 

I went to St Mary’s in Eugene whilst she attended service at Baptist Church.

We both became more inquisitive into Buddhism in our adult lives and she is now a practising Tibetian buddhist. I am still in spiritual limbo, unsure which faith to take.

I admire her strength in taking care of her family and when we both bumped into each other (after we lost touch) at a hospital, we both shrieked in joy at sighting each other after a long time.

I was so happy to see her then.

Today we caught up for tea at her place.

It was good to reflect on good old days and good friendships.

Her sister showed me her artistic side.

She sketched birds or fruits and had these printed on mugs for sale at SGD25 each (*excluding shipping cost).

If you are interested in these mugs, let me know. 

Happy Tuesday folks!

5 responses to “Work Freedom – Day 5, Catching Up With Classmate

  1. How nice to have a catch up like that! πŸ˜ΊπŸ’•

  2. mistermuse says:

    As a fellow ex-Catholic, I wouldn’t worry about the “spiritual limbo” you’re in. Garfield doesn’t belong to any particular religion, and yet, because he is loved, I bet he doesn’t have a care in the world. So just remember that Garfield loves you too, and you may find that there are far worse states to be in than “spiritual limbo.” πŸ™‚

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Mistermuse is as always filled with wisdom and I thank you for giving me the time to share and care. I stay encouraged by your kind words. Happy wednesday😊

  3. Neethu says:

    Thats wonderful..catching up with old friends gets back the kid in you..hope you had a wonderful time..😁

Leave a Reply

