Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Work Freedom – Day 6 Part 1 Botanical Garden, Tanglin Gate

on June 7, 2017

Our UNESCO heritage Botanical Gardens has several entrances, Nassim Gate, Tanglin Gate and near Botanics MRT gate. 

There is a new area called the Buffer Zone which is a tree tops walk through wetland area. (*I have not vemtured into this part just yet)

Today I spent an hour walking through Tanglin Gate as I wanted to clock my 7,000 step goal.

Entering from the Botany Visitors Center, my horticultural experience began.

I am always in awe of the well kept greens. Small wonder as every nook or cranny I ventured to had a grounds keeper sweeping or pruning away.

A bubbling brook greeted me and I loved the lyrical sound of water flowing.

I saw this unique tree with netball sized fruits.

It had a lovely bloom, almost orchid like.

Feng shui perhaps? This giant boulder was water propelled as it rotated on its axis.

Sculptures or metal statues dotted the garden and it was nice to see these amidst the greenery giving it the “life” near seats or wooden chairs for visitors to rest and take in the view.

I saw this brick stone staircase and learnt it was made by Prisoners of War.

The path with a trellis covered by creepers led me to a lovely pond.

I spotted a feathered friend amongst the greenery of the pond. It stepped onto the lily pads to get across!

Stay tuned for Part 2 of my walk tomorrow

12 responses to “Work Freedom – Day 6 Part 1 Botanical Garden, Tanglin Gate

  1. Absolutely beautiful! So pleased to share your walk πŸ˜ΊπŸ’•xxx

  2. calmkate says:

    delightful … even feel like I’m getting healthy with you πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. scifihammy says:

    Its great you now have the time to appreciate these beautiful places in your Lil Red Dot. πŸ™‚

  4. These are beautiful photos, thanks for sharing. That’s one unique tree…

  5. HN says:

    So interesting and pretty. I also enjoy slow walks to look at fascinating nature

Leave a Reply

