Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Deepest Condolences To My Bereaved Host Mum On Passing Of Dean McKenzie, My Host Dad😢😢😢

on August 5, 2017

Friday morning at work, my heart skipped a beat when I saw an email from my Host Mum Lucile that her husband, my beloved Host Dad, Alan Dean McKenzie passed.

My life with the McKenzies began in January 1986 as a Freshman at University of Oregon.

I had signed up for ARH205 – Byzantine Art and Architecture taught by Assoc Prof Alan Dean McKenzie.

With his influence, I graduated with a minor in Art History, appreciating European art and architecture including Chinese art!

I enjoyed his classes at Prince Lucien Campbell Hall and half way through winter term, I boldly went up to him if he will be my host family whilst I study in USA.

“I will ask my wife” he smiled.

The next week, he told me at class that his wife, Lucile, was delighted to host me.

As I spent family time with them in their beautifully landscaped bamboo garden aptly called Le Petite Chateau, I enjoyed Anerican culture and American Slang 101.

They had be over for Thanksgiving dinners, took me out for hikes at Spencer Butte, Sahalie Falls and Shakespeare festival.

I was treated to a musical and a whole host of family time. I learnt the American culture as they made my stay in USA as their daughter.

Over the years since graduation, I only returned once to see them in 1995 as after that, I fell very ill, being hospitalised every year for surgeries up till 2016.

An avid photographer, Prof would send me photos of visitors to their garden.

Below is a photo of the late Prof McKenzie in his garden.

Bambi comes by to their garden.

Rest in peace Host Dad…Professor Emeritus, University of Oregon, Art History – I love you and may you continue to look after Host Mum Lucile who loves you so much as lost you as her soul mate.

You missed your birthday on 13th August 2017 as you passed on 4th August 2017.

Garfield hugs 🤗🤗🤗and till we meet again.

Thank you for your love and care.

I promise to continue to email Lucile to ask after her as she does to me.

They say that as a host parent, your responsibilities never end till we part in death and re meet in afterlife.

Blessings!

All photos were taken by Prof and emailed to me or snail mailed over the years.

25 responses to “Deepest Condolences To My Bereaved Host Mum On Passing Of Dean McKenzie, My Host Dad😢😢😢

  1. I’m sorry to hear that!

  2. Paula says:

    Awww, so sorry, ☹

  3. I’m sorry to hear that. My condolences to you.

  4. So sorry for your loss. 😦

  5. bjaybrooks says:

    I am so sorry to hear of your Host Dad’s passing. Your remarks are heartfelt and touching.

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Thanks BJ kindly. I was a stranger in a foreign land. They gave me warmth and hospitality. They are devout Baptists and shared that they hosted kids from hell too. Still they stayed on in the program to share the American way of life, inclding pies. I loved my time spent in Eugene😊

  6. GP Cox says:

    I am very sorry for your loss.

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Thank you GP. Prof a.k.a my host dad lived a rich life and I was blessed to be a part of his life as their host daughter or kid he and his wife fondly called me.⚘

  7. My condolences and sympathy, what a lovely tribute to your Host Dad. Hugs xxooxx

  8. Your faith seems to offer you some consolation.

  9. calmkate says:

    always sad when we lose someone special and he sounds super special, good you can keep in touch with host Mum as she will feel it most 😦

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Yes, poor host mum is badly hit as she always told me that he was her soul mate and they were both a loving couple. Still she suffered in last couple of years as Prof was struck with dementia and she had to care for him till he had to be in a nursing home. Prof was well looked after throughout and Host Mum Lucile will need time to heal💕💕🐾🐾⚘

  10. mistermuse says:

    Thank you for sharing the story of this special relationship. Would that every human being were this blessed.

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Thank you for reading. I wish everyone could be this blessed. I am sad that I cannot fly there as journey is too far and my spine would not be happy. With transit and all it would take me 28 hours to get there. New job no leave to be allowed and even if I fly in and out, I would be quite tired😔

  11. Virginia says:

    So sorry for this loss! May Professor McKenzie rest in peace & may your heart & Lucille’s be comforted with with hugs of faith, hope & love. 💜🤗💜

Leave a Reply

