Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Love Gained Or Love Lost

on August 13, 2017

I pondered on the term “love” between a man and a woman. 

Romantic love that leads to marriage, family and the proverbial happily ever after!

A big price it seems to me as 2 strangers woo each other and legalises a union through the term “marriage”

Is he or she a serial killer? Proverbial liar? Con person? 

It is a game of chance. 

Sometimes true love, other times nightmare from hell!

Sometimes man chooses woman or vice versa who is well connected, wealthy and successful so that he can be instantly successful.

Sometimes man chooses woman or vice versa to look good..ie a commodity to be held at arm to present self before a business scene.

Regardless, man or woman pays a price.

Not all man or woman are as what it seems. It can really be a match in heaven…true love and happily ever after with kids in tow.

Sure….married couples bicker for the silliest of things – toothpaste caps not closed, toilet seat not raised, who to run kids to school…laundry and the list goes on.

Who can be more selfish? 

Man or woman?

As a woman, I feel the men I have met do not get to know me for who I am but instead for who I can be to them.

I am not eye candy to be draped on their arms but a powerful prop to gain media attention, Dukes of Yore, solution provider for business or networking.

Men I knew needed a leg up in society. I did not hesitate to share or help as I knew what it is like to struggle.

I ask self if I have the come hither look that says “come tell me your woes and I can help you”

I was put to the test yesterday.

After running an errand for my folks, I took them for a meal at a food court.

Whilst lining up for my dad’s favorite chicken rice, I smiled at the good court helper. He nodded his head as he cleared used utensils and collected food waste.

As we settled down to eat at a table, he hovered near our table and nodded at me again. I smiled and returned a smile again.

The 3rd time he approached me, he put 2 packets of unopened pocket tissue paper on my table for our use.

I saw for the first time his badge which read,”I am deaf” – he was also mute!

I asked and gestured if he had eaten lunch. He pointed at watch and used 4 digits to wave his end of shift.

He signed and shared how he was bullied at work.

Mum held out $5 as a gift to him and he quickly pocketed it.

I felt for this man. If he is married will he be bullied too by his wife or relatives.

Why did he approach me to tell his woes?

Did I have the come hither tell me your woes and I can help you look?

Or am I a purpose of higher forces to listen and hear the man on the street?

I get strangers coming up to me to just talk or be told their burdens. 

I guess I am a vassal for their refuge or release valve?

Marriage or relationships are tough. It takes hard work and open communication to be sincere and honest.

Once there is no sincerity or honesty, I feel any relationship is doomed. Anyone can have a glib tongue but the savvy wooing and fake traits will ultimately surface.

This is why I am single I guess because I am critical and analytical. I pride self on being honest and sincere and this scares people.

They know that once I find them dishonest after 3 times, I will make a “business decision” to call it quits else my heart is smashed.

But being a sentimental fool, I tolerated a friendship with Mr EX for decades.

 I reflected – it was something I had chosen not to do with him.

He is a recalcitrant liar and a gold digger for wealth, contacts and looking good to others by striving for awards to stride in society.

Entrepreneur of the year award, businessman of the year award, most charitable man award blah blah are his coveted medals but in truth….he has no friends as he used all and threw all once the utility ceased.

He is charitable only if he gets a letter from a statesman to state his donation.

S Man was sharp and last night he shared with me that MR EX is a pragmatic guy. If he sees one he meets without merit, he stops talking to you.

Spot on S Man! I thank you for sharing this and opening my eyes.

By walking away from MR EX I am now free from pitying or worrying for him as he never needed it. He only wanted my contacts. He saw me and used me to gain entry to my inner circle of who’s who! *Not that I had many except for social charity work I like doing* โ˜บ

Friendship and love exist for its monetary worth is the motto of Mr EX and I am clear now.

Pity party is over!

Love gained or love lost? Neither….as there was no love to begin with so how can it be lost?๐Ÿค”

Ha ha my Sunday attempt at wisdom folks….hope it makes sense and happy Sunday to you all๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿพ๐Ÿพ

7 responses to “Love Gained Or Love Lost

  1. Insightful post. Happy Sunday to you!

  2. calmkate says:

    wow you just made me very glad I’m single … sssh don’t tell anyone ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I think it has to be an equal partnership of minds, background, education etc. Pros and cons for both being single and married..lol…just don’t forget to look after yourself too, as well as everybody else. ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ˜บ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ˜บxx

Leave a Reply

