Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Rambutan Tree

on August 14, 2017

My mum has her favorite rambutan tree and today when she inspected it, she tut tutted away!

“No wonder it did not fruit this year! The trunk has a parasite creeper on it!”

She further added….”too tall now! We have to lob the top off..like decapitating the head!”

Our trusty agent was there, taking notes as she is a good handy person to have.

It was indeed now a glorious crowning tree.

I noticed a branch has across the fence and into the neighbor’s yard.

Our neighbor is not grumbling as the owner’s two lovely helpers from India love rambutans! 

Once it fruits, they get to harvest and we are happy to share!

Still it needs to be lobbed off as it is causing the fence to sag.

Plants can grow the strangest of ways and birds eating and pooping in the estate can cause this nasty plant called ficus to grow and destroy foundations.

I spotted this little ficus already so deep rooted in this tiny crevice that I could not pull it out.

I spotted another same specie growing on the wall on the 2nd storey.

I know the issues on hand but hmm how was I to be able to find a gardener to tackle this?

It required a cherry picker to access the 2nd storey.

As I pondered on my way home, I saw the road blocked as tree pruners were pruning huge trees by NParks (*government agency)

As I inched my car to drive through, I saw a man waving the cars with a safety light stick.

I wound down my car window and greeted him. 

He introduced self as Mr Liu and was ever so polite. He owned the company and he was a contractor for NParks!

I got his phone number and left him to wave cars on!

A good looker and a polite chap…I just hope he does a good job for mum haha!

With Whats app it was easy to send him photos of the plants that need to be tended to.

I was taught by him in his reply that “he is happy to assist in our arboriculture needs!”

Ha! He seems intelligent!πŸ˜‰

Problem solved mum!! *fingers crossed that he does not charge an arm and a leg! And that he does not butcher mum’s prized tree!!😊

12 responses to “Rambutan Tree

  1. calmkate says:

    wow see how it flows, you noticed the problem and the solution presented itself, well done GH πŸ™‚

  2. Woah! I can’t imagine if he butchered your mom’s tree!!! Hehehe argh! Good luck)

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Thanks for good luck πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€This stranger must deliver to the satisfaction of my mum else I will be the one to hear no end of it till the tree regrows which will take a year at least! My poor earsπŸ‘‚πŸ‘‚πŸ‘‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

  3. And good afternoon! I think Monday is beating me today…😒…but I do hope your mother’s tree is successfully rescued. My partner’s mother has something similar growing out of her chimney and was quoted Β£400 to remove it! 😱🌱

Leave a Reply

