Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

My Saturday Issue

on December 3, 2017

I felt so smart saving $0.60 per Super Glue tube. I bought 2 tubes. I paid $2.40 for 2 tubes.

Had I bought it last Friday evening at the shop nearest home, it was $1.80 per tube or $3.60 for 2 tubes.

As I tore away the packaging to fit my tiny cupboard space, I wondered why the orange long snout like nozzle was not screwed on.

Not being very smart, I screwed it only but only to realize sticky glue on my fingers.

I droped the tube like a hot potato but too late the glue on my fingers set almost instantly and my left index finger and thumb were glued together at a point.

I tried separating them instantly but the skin tugged and short of ripping off my skin, it remained very glued together.

Trusty google advised me to soak in warm soapy water. I did that.

It did not work.

Google said use acetone nail polish remover. I did that. I poured it over the glued area. 

It did not work.

Google said to use lemon juice. Thankfully I have a bottle I keep in fridge for drinks. I like drinking lime juice with ice water.

It did not work.

I used paint solvent. I sploshed a whole bottle. 

It did not work.

Sadly, I tried to dress decently…hard with a paw which had 2 fingers stuck together!

I then drove off to Bates Motel to see the A&E doctor there. I felt the fingers needed to be surgically interferred to enable separation.

Sigh!

My Saturday got worst. I had to be up at 6am to get to Dad at 7.30am so that we could gate crashed a clinic without appointment as he had not collected his meds nor taken them for days.

His mental health is worsening and I was glad to discover that he was not taking his meds clockwork instead of him suffering a stroke as he failed to take 3 types of blood pressure pills.

Clinic said meds were collected but yet these were not in the house. I suspected he took the meds but left it at the food court.

So after all that hullabaloo and a shouting match with dad (*he claims that I am not helping him and that as far as he knows I do not do anything to help him) – The lid blew off my top. 

My father has always been the only parent that hates me. So despite anything and everything that I can do for him, including and not limited to kiling self, he would never appreciate me.

He threatened to jump off a building. I told him, frankly I wish he would. His other 2 children whom he treasures to ends of earth have disowned him as well as ignored him. 

Yet, like vultures they are circling to collect inheritance when he keels over.

I digress….in short I had a shitty Saturday morning starting at 6am.

I arrived at A&E. But before I arrived at A&E I berated God and all deities for giving me bucket loads of shit!

Honestly I cursed the Catholic God as being a devout Catholic once before I could not understand why my life is made so difficult.

Weekdays I get up early to get to work and evenings to run my father’s and mother’s errands.

Weekends, I have to sort out my own stuff plus whatever adhoc issues for parents.

I do not have the luxury to sleep in, surviving on less than 7 hours sleep a night.

So when my dad accused me of “not doing anything” for him in that sarcastic tone, I snapped.

At A&E…I greeted my regular nurses and said my fingers were glued together and I need help to separate them.

As I showed them the glued fingers…voila it separated.

I wonder if Google advice did work or was it the cursing at Catholic God that caused wifi bluetooth connectivity to that hoity toity GOD that led to a miracle?🀣

I prefer to think Google advice worked.

πŸ‹πŸ‹πŸ‹πŸ‹Lemon juice helped.

I am tired. Doing my best for an unreasonable father who is losing his mind is making my burden very heavy and the yoke on my shoulders hurt.

I am due to be admitted to hospital or Bates Motel but because none of my parents’ other children bothers to help citing living overseas….not their problem to handle, I cannot seek treatment till I complete their house move.

My life sucks. Even if I want to die, I must finish my tasks for my parents before I can die.

So much for the Catholic phrase…go in the peace of Christ! Hogwash!πŸ˜‚


21 responses to “My Saturday Issue

  1. juliehcares says:

    I’m not catholic but I can relate. I’ve glued my fingers before with super glue and it sucked! Luckily, I soaked my hand in acetone for about 10 minutes and they came apart. Good luck moving them and get yourself taken care of! We can’t help others if we don’t help ourselves.

  2. samanthamurdochblog says:

    Oh no! I am SO sorry…I hate superglue and I can’t use it actually, it makes me hysterical. I got a spoon glued to my thumb…😒😒😒😒….if – and I sincerely hope it doesn’t – happens again, stick your hand in warm water and use something like a spoon to prise them apart. Or better still, don’t use it anymore and just throw it away…

    I am sad your father is being difficult…I’d like to say at least he’s got the excuse of dementia. My oldest son is being a busy bee talking all sorts of trash about my partner and I…it’s great when this sort of thing happens just in time for Christmas, really ups the festivity level…just keep going.

    Sending hugs and tea…πŸ’•πŸ˜ΊπŸ΅πŸͺπŸ’•πŸ’•πŸͺπŸ΅πŸ˜ΊπŸ’•

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Ohh so sad that your eldest son is being so mean! Sounds like he has a chip on his shoulder. He should at least be happy for your happiness and leave it at that. Ignore him Samantha. Sounds like he is jealous and if he keeps it up, the only person hurting is him alone. Sounds like we both have crosses to bear! Let’s drink tea🍡🍡. Think of the positives…me and Garfield plus a mum who loves me very much. You and Alex with cats and a partner that loves you all. Chin up and tomorrow be better days for us πŸ’•πŸ’•

  3. Ady says:

    I am sad to hear you going through such tough times.but like juliehcares says, you do need to take care of yourself, then only you can help others… I pray things get better for you in the future…

  4. scifihammy says:

    I clicked Like before I read your post – You poor thing! Seems like everything piles up at once. I’m very glad you got your fingers separated. Super glue is nasty stuff!
    And I am so sorry you are getting so much hostility from your Dad. All I can say is – look after him for Your sake, not for his, because when he is gone, then you will have no regrets.
    Many Garfield Hugs and a super soft cuddle from Little Monkey – who had a bath yesterday! πŸ™‚

  5. mistermuse says:

    Have you given any thought to super-gluing yourself to Garfield so you will never be separated? You never know what might happen to Garfield when you’re not around! πŸ™‚

    • Garfield Hug says:

      LOL! Mistermuse you are always amusing. Garfield cannot be super glued to me as he is precious. He requires me to remember him and this is good as it keeps my mind active. LOL!

  6. Ohhh dear, G-Hug ❀ I "like" your humorous writing style, although sad to hear
    this was such a rough Saturday, for you! Sending you gigantic Garfield hugs 😘🐯
    Glad to know your mom loves and appreciates you! Honouring your parents
    is in your best interest, so let's hope your dad's attitude toward you improves :-/
    I believe there are only 2 gods in this whole world. Jesus is the one true God
    of the Bible. Satan is the evil "wannabe" god of this worldβ€”aka Lucifer, who is
    the sinister source behind all fake religions (including Catholicism).
    Truly, nothing compares to knowing/following Jesus!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ’œ Jackie@KWH

    • Garfield Hug says:

      I admire your faith in Jesus Jackie. I am trying to understand why God has lost wifi connectivity with me. Maybe our blue tooth sets are not paired πŸ˜‰ Life has its struggles and Garfield Hugs are always appreciated. Thanks πŸ˜€

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.