Garfieldhug's Blog

This & That Including What Ails

Small & Successful….Sharing About My Lil Red dot

on October 15, 2016

Today’s Straits Time, our national newspaper, dated 15 October on page A36 ran a column by Professor Tommy Koh for the Straits Times.

Prof Koh is a remarkably astute yet kind gentleman. 

Despite his status as Ambassador at large with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Singapore and Rector of the Tembusu College at the National University of Singapore…he remains humble, genuine and sincere.

Having met him at several occasions, he always has a calming persona with wise words. I enjoy my chats with him immensely as he leaves me thinking and seeking more info my brain.

I remember he used to spearhead The United Nations Convention Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) and because of him, I queued to study this course under Prof Hovet in University of Oregon as an undergraduate in Political Science faculty. 

I did not regret the wait for an extra term to graduate as I was happy at the information learnt.

It helped me understand the issues of Pedra Branca better when Prof Tommy Koh and then lawyer, now Minister of Law, Shanmugam, argued successfully against our Neighbor, Malaysia, for rights to this tiny islet which sits a lighthouse.

So today when I saw this article, I immediately downed more coffee and became alert to read it as it was to me about how our little red dot, I fondly call for Singapore, is faring economically.

Below are photos I took of the article and share with credit to Straits Times


Hope you enjoyed learning more of my lil red dot. We are really small on world map but most travelled lot.

😊

Happy weekend folks

7 responses to “Small & Successful….Sharing About My Lil Red dot

  1. Interesting facts…definitely on my list of places to visit 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing! Agreed on difficulties of countries with large population, sometimes it is hard to bring people with opposing views of the world to accept simple concept even if it is for their benefits.

    Have a nice weekend too 🙂

  3. Congratulations! Just to the north of Little Red Dot and separated by a one kilometre Causeway is one of the most corrupt countries, vying hard to be the most corrupt country in the world.

    • Garfield Hug says:

      Thanks for weighing in. I feel for Malaysians….it is really sad as it is natural resource rich. With the right government and equality amongst races, it could really be a rich country with a rich peopling.

Leave a Reply

